City Council

Council Members

Eight councilmembers represent four city wards and are elected by their ward on a staggered basis for four-year terms.


  • 6:00 pm
  • First and third Monday of each month
  • City Council Chamber
    2500 14th St. (Third level of the Columbus Community Building)
    Columbus, Nebraska 68601

Regular meetings may be rescheduled by motion of the council (to accommodate holidays or other scheduling conflicts). Special meetings of the council may be called by the mayor or at least four members of the council.


FRONT ROW: Katherine Lopez, left, and Beth Augustine-Schulte.

BACK ROW: Mayor Jim Bulkley, left, Hope Freshour, Richard 'Rich' Jablonski, J. Prent Roth, Ron Schilling, Troy Hiemer and Charlie Bahr.

City Council meetings may be viewed live on our City Meetings Page.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.

For Council Meetings starting February 2, 2015: Council Meeting Packets

For agendas prior to February 2, 2015: Agendas

For minutes prior to February 2, 2015: Minutes

Run for a Council Seat

Anyone wishing to run for a council seat during an election year may do so if they are a registered voter. They must pay a filing fee in the City Clerk’s office and submit the receipt to the Election Commissioner at the Platte County Courthouse by the deadline established by the Election Commissioner.

Members & Contact Information

City Council members do not have set office hours at City Hall. Please feel free to contact them using the information provided on the following links. If they are unavailable, leave a message or email them and they will contact you at their earliest convenience.


1st Ward (Map (PDF))2nd Ward (Map (PDF))3rd Ward (Map (PDF))4th Ward (Map (PDF))
Beth Augustine-SchulteKatherine LopezRichard E. "Rich" JablonskiHope Freshour
Charlie BahrTroy HiemerRon SchillingJ. Prent Roth